Holy Days of Obligation

Question from Mary Jo Smith on 2/5/2008:  
Which days are the Holy Days of Obligation?
Answer by Rev. Mark J. Gantley, JCL on 2/20/2008: 
According to the universal law of the Catholic Church, the following are holy days of obligation: every Sunday, Christmas, Epiphany, Ascension, Body and Blood of Christ, Mary Mother of God, Immaculate Conception, Assumption, St. Joseph, Saints Peter and Paul, All Saints (canon 1246.1).

Depending on the decision of the conference of bishops in a particular country (with Vatican approval), some of these days are transferred to the nearest Sunday or are suppressed as days of obligation (canon 1246.2).

For the days of obligation in the United States of America, go to: http://www.usccb.org/norms/1246.htm

No comments:

Post a Comment