Updated Seven Deadly Sins
Question from Tracy on 3/11/2008:

On our local news last night there was a small feature regarding an updated list of the seven deadly sins. Since I had not heard of this update prior to this news broadcast, I did some research online and found various articles regarding this new list. However, on the official Vatican website, there is no mention of this update.

Is this new list to be accepted as now permanent fundamental teachings of the Church or is it merely additional spiritual guidance? Polluting the environment is listed as one of these news sins. To what degree is this to be interpreted in reference to a mortal sin? Is merely not recycling grounds for a grave sin as the media is presenting?

I would appreciate any clarification that you could offer on this topic. It seems that if this were to be actual Catholic doctrine that this would be discussed by our parish priests rather than leaving the faithful to search for answers from sources that may be unreliable, at best.

Thank you.

Answer by Fr. Robert J. Levis on 3/12/2008:
Tracy, There has been no official change in this catechesis of the Seven Captital or Deadly Sins (to my knowledge). Some individuals experiment with new expressions stressing contemporary sins or problems. The official list is: pride, covetuousness, lust, anger, gluttony, envy, and sloth. Fr. Bob Levi

No comments:

Post a Comment